weekly adventure

Last year, I twisted my ankle partway through the summer and ended up sitting on my rear for most of July, August, and September, when I should have been going on adventures.   This summer, after coming back to work for the third season in Grand Teton National Park, I was feeling both apprehensive about launching into brisk mountain escapades on my still-wobbly ankle, while, at the same time, I was raring to get out there.  After a few test-runs, my first big hike of the season was Holly Lake (12.4 miles, 2600 feet of elevation gain). 

 The first attempt in early July was with a couple of friends; lighting made us turn around a few miles from the lake, so the following week, I went up to the lake on my own, passing a bear, glorying in the wildflowers, and enjoying the lake all on my own.  So, although this week’s posted adventure actually happened several weeks ago, I still wanted to share the beauty with you:

Holly Lake, up Paintbrush Canyon

Leave a Reply

