Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World by Nicholas Ostler

Snapshot of me reading:

I work in a very quiet and peaceful Visitor Center in Grand Teton National Park, which gives me tons of time to pore through weighty books when I’m not trying to help visitors spot a moose somewhere in the Park.  Here’s the Visitor Center: puts you in a thoughtful mood, doesn’t it?

The visitor center where I work on a moonlit night

The book:

This book took me AN ENTIRE MONTH to read. Very detailed, very much ‘and then the Sanskrit character X turned to the character X1 because of the cultural dynamics of blah blah blah’ but one of the best, most eye-opening books about language history I’ve ever read. OK, probably the only entire book I’ve read about language history. But still. Loved it.  My life goal is to get a PhD in Linguistics, so this seemed like a pretty good start.

Leave a Reply

