The Stuff of Thought by Stephen Pinker

Snapshot of me reading: I listened to this book on tape while driving from Grand Teton National Park to Portland, Oregon, where I started a graduate program in Applied Linguistics in the fall of 2011.  This half-textbook/half-lit-review/half-here’s-some-sciency-stuff-for-the-rest-of-you-all book on psycholinguistic theory kept me RIVETED to the steering wheel.

The book: Stephen Pinker transported to the magical world of verbs and causality and everything else found in a goodie-goodie’s grammar heaven.

MC Hammer does grammar!

After being in linguistics classes for a while, I no longer think that every word that dripped out of Pinker’s mouth is the golden truth of linguistics, but, when I was listening to this book on tape, I was so impressed by his persuasive writing that I still think this is a beautiful book that can inspire an interest in linguistics in just about everyone.  8 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

