The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz

View from this book:

This was the first and last book I read for fun during my first quarter as a grad student.  I loved this book, but to be completely honest, I read this book just as life as I knew it got sucked into the vortex of school, and so I didn’t ever jot down thoughts about this book.  Fuzzy brain cells, regenerate, please!

The book:

Let’s see… Fantastic narrator. Gripping storyline.  Multigenerational epic.  Drama.  Violence.  Terror.  Sex.  Believable characters.  Spanglish.  Tons of obscure sci-fi references.  Stir well, and add Dominican Republic scenery and history to taste.  Díaz bakes all of these ingredients into a fantastic book, and if only I hadn’t waited months to write this reviewlette, I could give you the specifics.  As it is, I just remember it was delicious. 8 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

