new year’s eve read-a-half-a-thon

nye

In the book blogging world, Jenn from The Picky Girl is hosting a New Year’s Eve read-a-thon.  The goal: read from midnight to midnight, eat all kinds of crazy snacks, and blog about it.  I’m rocking it at my grandma’s house, and the fun has arrived!  I’m joining this party a little late (so it’s only 12pm… that still counts as a half-a-thon…) but I’m up for all sorts of reading shenanigans.

Books I lugged up to Grandma’s:

1. The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkein.  Let the Hobbity (and Elvish, and Dwarvish, and Mannish, etc.) madness run wild.  Na vedui!

2. Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard.  Fantastically weird, beautiful prose.  Hippie women of the woods, holla!

3. The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy.  Tess of the D’Urbervilles was one of my faves, and this big bad book has been glaring at me from my TBR pile for quite a while.

4. Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson.  I have no idea.  The back cover includes gems such as “hip cybersensibility,” “gigathriller,” “Uncle Ezno’s CosaNostra Pizza Inc.,” “infocalypse” and “warrior prince.”  YESSSSSS!

5. For the Win by Cory Doctorow.  A brick of a book lent to me by my roommate.  I perceive many lols on the horizon.

6. Parrot & Olivier in America by Peter Carey.  Sometimes we all need a bit of historical weightiness in our adventures.

7. Whitefish Review: Beneath the Surface, edited by Rick Bass.  I spent a fantastic 10 days with my best buds in Whitefish, MT, where my buddies gifted me with this lovely issue of the journal Whitefish Review, which celebrates the area’s thriving literature and art scene.  Rick Bass: I love your face.

Planned Snackiness:

I’m making homemade pizza for dinner and will do apple juice toasts with Grandma to ring in the New Year.

Let the half-a-thon commence!

2 thoughts on “new year’s eve read-a-half-a-thon

Leave a Reply

