The Shell Collector by Anthony Doerr

View from this book:

Spring Break 2012~ off to Singapore to visit my cousin!  I cracked open this book while sitting on the tarmac in Portland, OR, and immediately fell into a magical world.

Snapshot of me reading:

These short stories unwound in magical, breathless sequence, and held me in an in-between state so powerful that I didn’t notice or care that my plane was still sitting on the tarmac in Portland, and that I’d probably miss my connecting flight in Tokyo—I was being transported to Kenya, Montana, Chicago, and thousand other emotional places in Doerr’s stories.  I typically avoid short stories because of their tendency to attempt too many symbolic punches, but Doerr laid on the symbolism, plot, character development, and lyricism in exactly the right amount.  8 out of 10.

The Shell Collector

Leave a Reply

