Mea culpa

Oh, my poor book blog!  Oh, how I’ve neglected you!  I’m surprised to find that you still exist on the netz.  It’s been a whirlwind past few months, involving lots of schoolwork, work-work, moving, starting new work, and still doing schoolwork.

I did get some reading done, although I didn’t actually keep very good notes, the result of which is that I’ve completely forgotten several books. BOO ME!  For example, all I wrote for Parrot and Olivier in America is “7 out of 10? 6 out of 10?”  I was, apparently, so unimpressed with the book, that I gave away my copy, and so I can’t even skim through it to remind myself enough to write a mini-review.

So, with that said, here’s a list of the books I read over the past two and a half months while I was incognito; some of these I hope to actually post reviews of someday.  I’ll be back, reviewing regularly, in no time!

 

Card, Orson Scott (or is it Scott Card, Orson?): Ender’s Game:  Believe it or not, I actually wrote a full review of this book.  Stay tuned.

Card, Orson Scott: Speaker for the Dead: And here’s ANOTHER one that I wrote a review about! No way!

Card, Orson Scott: Xenocide: You know, after the first two Ender books, it kinda just went downhill from there.  The books all sort-of blurred together, and the little nitpicky annoyances (and big annoyances – like, hello women? hello lgbt peeps?) that I had with the first two books were magnified after reading, what, seven more? They weren’t annoying enough that I stopped reading, of course, but it was enough to lump all of them into one review, which is coming shortly.

Card, Orson Scott: Children of the Mind: see above

Card, Orson Scott: Ender’s Shadow: “ “

Card, Orson Scott: Shadow of the Hegemon: “ “

Card, Orson Scott: Shadow Puppets: ditto

Card, Orson Scott: Shadow of the Giant: ditto

Card, Orson Scott: Ender in Exile: yup

Carey, Peter: Parrot and Olivier in America: Can’t remember much. 7 out of 10? 6 out of 10?

Cline, Ernest: Ready Player One: Enjoyed it thoroughly. review pending.

Eugenides, Jeffrey: The Marriage Plot: Pretty darn good reading. 8 out of 10.

Herbert, Frank: Dune: Guffaw! Was this seriously taken seriously when it came out?? And through the dozen further books and movies and games, all of which were dozens too many? Wow, I can’t even. 4 out of 10.

Hochschild, Adam: King Leopold’s Ghost: LOVED IT. Cried buckets. review pending.

Shaffer, Mary Ann and Barrows, Annie: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A beautiful book.  Made me cry (and for surprisingly similar reasons as King Leopold’s Ghost). Review most likely not coming… depends on how lazy I get.  For now, 9 out of 10.

Shinn, Sharon: Jenna Starborn: hooooooly shit. So bad. review pending

Shinn, Sharon: Summers at Castle Auburn: this book, despite being written by the same author as Jenna Starborn, is actually really good. review pending

Smith, Alexis: Glaciers: Absolutely beautiful. review pending

Smith, Sherwood: Crown Duel: An old Y.A. favorite, featuring a headstrong protagonist, swordfighting, intrigue, dastardly deeds, and romance of the very innocent kind. 8 out of 10.

Stephenson, Neil: Snow Crash: Chillin’ at Grandma’s. Meh. Let’s say 7 out of 10, shall we?

Leave a Reply

